About Us

Located just north of Farrell Road in the 5500 block of Webster Church Road outside of Dexter, MI, the buildings and grounds on the almost 4-acre parcel of land are part of the Historic Webster Village. These 7 buildings and the grounds that surround them are owned and maintained by the Webster Township Historical Society (WTHS).

WTHS, incorporated in Michigan in 1980, became a Federal not-for-profit, 501(c)3 organization in 1983. The mission of the Webster Township Historical Society is to preserve, promote and bring to life the history of Webster Township through the preservation and sharing of its buildings, archives, and artifacts, and connecting to the community through programs and activities.

WTHS is governed by four officers (president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer) and up to nine directors, comprising the Board of Directors operating according to established organizational By-Laws. We are charged with maintaining these buildings and grounds for the enjoyment of the community. In addition to our annual fund-raiser, the Webster Fall Festival, held the fourth Saturday in September, we also host various other events and offer our buildings and grounds for rent. We hope you will visit us!

The Webster Historic Archives (HWA) are managed by WTHS. Artifacts donated to the Society become part of the HWA and are displayed in our buildings. Documents, photos, records, and other items are stored in our files. We are working on a photographic and digital inventory of these archives. May Mast’s Barn is the process of becoming our farming museum.

The current Officers and Board of Directors is listed below.

Thelma Tucker, President (2022-2024)

Karen Hertenstein, Vice-President (2022-2024)

Virginia Davis, Secretary (2022-2024)

Dita Albert, Treasurer (2023-2024)

Gloria Brigham, Director (2022-2024)

Karen Bright, Director (2022-2024)

Peggy Harless, Director (2023-2025)

Rick Kleinschmidt, Director (2023-2025)

Anne Lask, Director (2023-2025)

Beth Sibray, Director (2023-2025)

Joanne Westman, Director (2023-2024)

Martha Zeeb, Director (2022-2024)